Blogging · Fiction · Humor · writing

A Poem From a Non-Poet ~~ Daily Post Challenge

This week’s Daily Post challenge is to do something that is away from your comfort zone. If like me, you write fiction or nonfiction, then we are to try photographs or poetry. I picked poetry, well  because I don’t have a very good camera, and poetry is words. I love words.

But also poetry is far removed from what I would normally write. To be honest I would never attempt poetry unless challenged! I’m just not good at it. So be warned! Do NOT read any further, well unless you want a good  laugh. But if you like good poetry, quite frankly you will be disappointed!

Don’t say I didn’t warn you! 😉

The challenge was issued and accepted by me

now I have to write in stanzas with words that flow free.

I’m good at stories and writings that come and go,

but something that rhymes is beyond my control.

I could cheat and pen something of roses and violets blue,

but I can’t think of anything that goes with that except flu.

Somehow I don’t think limericks will do either,

or odes to my eyes or nose would be  much of a thriller.

I warned you it was bad, so don’t be a hatin

my days as a poet are now quietly forsaken.

13 thoughts on “A Poem From a Non-Poet ~~ Daily Post Challenge

  1. Thats actually super cute. I got a chuckle out of it. I think you typod or got distracted on just your last line though. Did you mean “my days as a poet are now quietly (wholly) forsaken”?

    I could never write something that awesome.

    Like

    1. hell girl, anyone could write something that bad! haha! Seriously though, thanks. I really am a bad poet, but I was having fun.
      hmmm last line I will have to edit….Thanks!!

      Like

  2. trying something new (or what you’re not good at) really seems odd at the beginning……but we’ll get used to it 😀

    anyway, your poem is cute and funny 🙂

    Like

    1. I’m not sure I would ever get good at poetry, I love reading it, not so much writing. 🙂
      Thanks for reading, and saying kind words.

      Like

  3. I enjoyed myself immensely, I didn’t expect humor and really thought it was very good. We sometimes limit ourselves with preconceived ideas, over what we believe we are great achievers at or not, but as you say, maybe, getting out of your comfort zone, is actually discovering, what ELSE you’re good at!

    Like

    1. thank you so much for the nice words. I had fun writing it, but I believe I will stick with stories. But I do agree with you, we need to challenge ourselves more.

      Like

    1. haha! I will leave the poem writing to you Tiny my friend. but yes it was fun! I had a good laugh.

      Like

    1. thank you, it’s always nice to hear that I was a success, but I had fun too. Just don’t expect much more poetry from this girl 😉

      Like

Comments are closed.