Blog challenge · Blogging · Daily Prompt · Mi Vida Loca · postaday · writing

Daily Prompt: Imagine All the People~~ A Tale of a Life well Lived

Daily Prompt: Imagine All the People

The next time you’re in a public place — a coffeehouse, a park, a store — observe the people around you. Pick a person, a couple, or a group, and imagine what their lives might be like.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I don’t have to wait till the next time I’m out and about. I do this all the time. In fact I did this not an hour ago when I went to the grocery store. It’s what happens when you are a writer and you have a vivid imagination.

I saw her as I was on the way home actually.

It’s a beautiful day here in Canada where I live. The day is warm with a bright blue sky and wispy white clouds. I was driving home from the grocery store. Taking my time with the window rolled down and enjoying the beautiful day.

I saw her from quite a way as she was dressed in bright colors. Like a walking, living  bouquet of vivid wild flowers she walked gracefully down the country road. She wore a primrose pink jacket with her legs encased in sunshine yellow pants. On her feet she wore white sneakers. On her arm was a bright red purse that swung with each jaunty step.

http://www.treesflowers.com/
http://www.treesflowers.com/

As I got closer I could see she was old, her face full of well-worn wrinkles in a light brown face. Her dark brown eyes sparkled with happiness as she tucked her white hair into her bright blue head scarf.  She gave me a joyous toothless smile as I slowly went by. It was the kind of smile that made your heart sing and your lips turn up in a grin. That smile seemed to say, “Hello! I am so glad we are both alive and able to enjoy this perfect day!”

She may have been going to the same grocery store I had just left. Or maybe she was on her way to visit a close friend, where they would sit and drink coffee and reminisce over old times. Or she was on her way to visit a daughter or son who would hug her and tell her how welcomed she was.

Wherever she ended up I knew she would bring happiness to all she came in contact to. She had that aura about her. A wise woman full of love and kindness. A woman who had a tender touch or a soft kiss with aged lips. A woman who had seen much in life and like her Native Indian ancestors was at peace with her surroundings.

Her smile was such a beautiful present today. It made me feel lighthearted. It made me feel that I was where I should be at this time in my life.

I passed her in my car, a fleeting moment in time. But her image, her smile, her colorful self,  will stay with me for much, much longer. With those precious seconds as I slowly passed her and she had a smile only for me I felt the gentle hand of love surround my heart.

With that gift I will go about my day with a lighter step, a joy in living that I had not woken up to this morning. I silently thank her for giving that to me and I hope light and love will be with her always.

  1. Balcony safety for dogs 1 | We Live In A Flat
  2. Crossing Longsands | Musings from a practical mystic
  3. Imagine All the People | Geek Ergo Sum
  4. Daily Prompt: Imagine All the People | littlegirlstory
  5. People Watching? I’m virtually a professional. | thoughtsofrkh
  6. Daily Post Imagine (A Poem) | awritersfountain
  7. Accidental People | The Ambitious Drifter
  8. Daily Prompt: Imagine All the People | Under the Monkey Tree
  9. Behind the mask | Sue’s Trifles
  10. Daily Prompt: A Day Away | One Starving Activist
  11. Daily Prompt: Imagine A Clowns Day | IF I ONLY HAD A TIME MACHINE
  12. Along for the Ride (Daily Prompt: Imagine All the People ) | Delana’s World
  13. Daily Prompt: Imagine All the People « Mama Bear Musings
  14. The Old Man by the Window | Clandestine Destiny
  15. Daily Prompt: Imagine All the People | ThisCornerOfTheWoods
  16. Coffee With A Marine At McDonald’s | The Jittery Goat
  17. “Imagine All the People” | Relax
  18. Imagine Your Imagination | The Magic Black Book
  19. John Lennon [Daily Prompt: Imagine All the People] | unknowinglee
  20. Daily Prompt: Imagine all the people. Are they imagining me too? | SERENDIPITY
  21. Hope* the happy hugger
  22. Imagine | Icezine
  23. Eyewitness Testimony | Creative Mysteries
  24. Imagine all the people | Bridging Worlds
  25. Corpse Candle: Granny’s Tale | alienorajt
  26. Daily Prompt: Imagine All the People | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

13 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Imagine All the People~~ A Tale of a Life well Lived

  1. Ah! You were in the presence of an Angel that gifted you with her peace. How lovely. They come in such odd shapes and sizes. 🙂 Loved the descriptiveness. I was riding along side of you.

    Like

Comments are closed.